top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess Goodwin

150 Days...So Far

The doorknob wiggles as the door creaks open,

The sun barely peeking through the shades.

The littlest shadow emerges from the crack of light.


As the teeny tiniest feet

Pitter patter their way closer.

Blanket dragging behind.

She looks up from the floor,

With Bambi’s eyes, illuminated with tears


My arm unwinds from its position.

She takes this welcome and climbs

Up and up onto my chest

Mangling her body into the fetal position

Resting her head under my own.


A tear falls from my closed eye

Awaken by the wetness

I find myself clutching a firm pillow

And nothing else.


150 days.

150 days of unknown

150 days of anguish


Will she remember?

Has she forgot?

Is it too late?


It doesn’t matter.

I’ll wait

I’ll hope

I’ll pray

For her-

Her back in my heart.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page