top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess Goodwin

Being Back

Your image still triggers me

I can’t see your face without remembering

I can’t hear your voice without remembering

I hear your voice hit a certain octave, and I still hold my breath

It’s become instinctive.


I’m scared.

I’m scared that you haven't changed.

I’m scared you don’t remember the old you.


I’m angry.

I’m angry that you think everything is fine.

I'm angry that you think we can just go back to normal.

This isn’t normal.

We aren’t normal.


Sometimes it was easier with you away.

I couldn’t think about it though.

You. Caged. Like an animal.

But there was peace.

There was security in a cage.

A cage is meant for protection.

Protection for the one inside and the one outside.


I don’t think everything will go back to normal.

When people ask “how are you guys?”

I’ll smile and say “OK.”

But isn't that what we all say?


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page