top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess Goodwin

Thoughts From a Brain Fast Asleep

The birds are chirping

That repetitive sound that only they can make

It’s the first tell that it’s happened

Again


It goes faster at night

Time that is

It’s ticking seems to double in pace

All of a sudden here we are again

Awake


But are we really awake?

My eyes seeing

My legs moving

My hand writing

My ears hearing

But my brain…

Oh, my brain

It's asleep.


It quit it’s job hours ago

It said “if you aren’t going to put us to sleep, I will”

So it did.

Somehow my body takes over

It has gotten used to this

Recently


It keeps moving along as the brain is somewhere else

But where did it go?

My brain feels gone...yet

Still. Here. In. There.

But where is...there.


I wish I could ask it when it wakes

but then is when my body sleeps

Frozen in rest

Unable to ask

“When we all fall asleep, where do we go?”


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page