top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess Goodwin

Just a Spark

There are crackling embers in my stomach.

Not always noticed.

They sit there waiting,

Waiting for a word, a glance, a movement,

Anything that would make them grow.

The red and orange lights twinkle with anticipation

For their time to truly shine.

They can’t wait to grow big.

To show everyone what they are made of.

To prove to everyone who they can be.

To finally be what they were meant to be.


Fire.


An unruly combustion of all the anticipated time.

It spurts as an opened fire hydrant would.

There isn’t anything fast enough to stop it.

Its flames start reaching my veins,

Scorching my entire body.

This only gives it more power.


I have no power left.

I’ve been consumed.

Charred from the inside out.

Leaving blackened flesh in my place.

The flames strike out at the nearest person,

Wanting to char anything and everything.


The only way of stopping the flames

Is to turn them back on me.

The flames attention come back to my chard being

And begin burning the charred remains to nothingness


I created this fire.

It was me the let the embers spark.

It was me that burned these people

I caused myself to

Burn.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page