top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess Goodwin

The Bond of Blood

I don’t want to be you.

What happens if two of us end up

As screwups?

What happens then, huh?

What will mom think, huh?

Will she think she failed, huh?

Will she blame herself, huh?

We can’t do that to her.

Not now.

Not after all we’ve put her through.


You know I already see you in me.

I catch myself.

I catch myself getting angry as you did.

I catch myself blaming others as you did.

I catch myself medicating as you did.

I catch myself hurting as you did.

Do you think this is what I wanted?


I wanted so bad for them not to be right about us.

But look who proved them right.

We are the same.

It doesn't matter now.

It’s too late now.

We can't go back now.

This is now.


I guess it’s just down to our blood, now.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page